Alabama Football Takes Home Six National Honors During the ESPN College Football Awards Show

TUSCALOOSA, Ala. – Alabama football captured six individual national awards Thursday night at the virtual ESPN College Football Awards Show presented by Home Depot.

The Crimson Tide’s list of award winners includes: Landon Dickerson (Rimington), Najee Harris (Doak Walker), Mac Jones (Davey O’Brien), Alex Leatherwood (Outland) and DeVonta Smith (Biletnikoff, Maxwell).

Landon Dickerson

Rimington Trophy – Presented annually to the most outstanding center in the NCAA’s Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS)

  • Dominant interior offensive lineman that earned the No. 2 overall grade at center by Pro Football Focus (91.3)
  • Played 725 total snaps with just two missed assignments and allowed zero sacks before a season-ending injury against Florida
  • Graded out at 99.6 percent on all assignments by the UA coaching staff
  • Past Alabama winners – Barrett Jones (2012), Ryan Kelly (2015)

Najee Harris

Doak Walker Award – Presented annually to the nation’s premier running back for his accomplishments on the field, achievement in the classroom and citizenship in the community

  • Leads the nation in total touchdowns (27) and rushing touchdowns (24) along with scoring (162)
  • Alabama’s all-time leader for total touchdowns in a career with 54 (44 rushing, 10 receiving)
  • Totaled two or more rushing touchdowns in eight of 12 contests with at least one score in 10 games this season
  • Past Alabama winners – Trent Richardson (2011), Derrick Henry (2015)

Mac Jones

Davey O’Brien Award – Presented annually to the nation’s best college quarterback

  • Totaled 4,036 yards to set the Alabama single-season passing yardage record
  • Posted four 400-plus yard passing performances in 2020, the most by any Crimson Tide quarterback for a career and tied for the most in a single season in SEC history
  • Sports an NCAA-leading 203.03 passer rating and a 95.8 QBR heading into the CFP National Championship Game
  • Jones becomes Alabama’s first winner of the Davey O’Brien Award

Alex Leatherwood

Outland Trophy – Presented annually to the top interior lineman in college football (offense or defense)

  • Made 40 consecutive starts along the Alabama offensive line in 47 career games
  • Averaging a 91.3 overall blocking grade and a 99.7 mark on his assignments by the Crimson Tide coaches
  • Totaled 746 snaps during the 2020 season, allowing just two sacks while missing only two assignments
  • Past Alabama winners – Chris Samuels (1999), Andre Smith (2008), Barrett Jones (2011), Cam Robinson (2016), Quinnen Williams (2018)

DeVonta Smith

Biletnikoff Award – Presented annually to the top pass-catcher in college football

Maxwell – Presented annually to recognize the top player in college football

  • Leads the nation in receptions (105), receiving yards (1,641), receiving touchdowns (20) and all-purpose yards (1,912)
  • Holds the Alabama single-season record for receiving scores while ranking second in both receiving yards and receptions
  • Past Alabama Biletnikoff winners – Amari Cooper (2014), Jerry Jeudy (2018)
  • Past Alabama Maxwell winners – AJ McCarron (2013), Derrick Henry (2015), Tua Tagovailoa (2018)

Get all the latest information on the team by following @AlabamaFTBL on Twitter and Facebook and AlabamaFBL on Instagram. General athletic news can also be found at UA_Athletics on Twitter and Instagram and AlabamaAthletics on Facebook.